Skip to content

The Magnificent Chicken!

December 5, 2012

The Magnificent Chicken

I am thrilled to announce a new book of my portraits of show chickens.  The Magnificent Chicken, Chronicle Books, will hit the bookstores in March 2013.  I am super happy with the cover, but I have to admit that I was surprised by the shell.  I designed a grid of outtakes thinking they might be the end pages but when the advanced copy arrived I was delighted with this jewel!  There were so many great birds that did not make it into the book, so I was happy to see the images that show the difficulty of photographing a live animal.  Original design:  Maria Grillo, The Grillo Group.

Shell

MilleFleur

LemonBlue

The following post is the latest article in Backyard Poultry Magazine.  I am always impressed by the poultry breeders I’ve met over the years.  These articles aim to pay homage to those people and The Fancy.  The photographs and the article are both my work. You can read my other articles at Pretty Chicken.   Enjoy!

Backyard Poultry

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lscheuer permalink
    December 6, 2012 10:39 am

    Tamara – Another beautiful book! I can’t wait to get my copy! And that grid of outtakes is kind of wonderful. I just came to take a quick look at your blog, and a half hour later I’m still here! Great posts. Tasty images.

    • December 6, 2012 12:20 pm

      Thanks Lauren! And I can’t wait for my copy of your new awesome book: Once Upon a Flock. I’ve been telling everyone I see about this book!

  2. January 25, 2013 12:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Ken Allen News and commented:
    Printing Tamara Staples new Chicken series. From the Bearded Belgium D’uccle Mille Fleur to the White Crested Black Polish, these chickens really are the cream of the coop! Tamara’s careful selection of background material really makes these images fun and adds to the unique personality of each breed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

